Cricket is considered as the national interest and nobody wants to miss even a single match. Every year, several tournaments are held all over the world by International Cricket Council. One of their main events is ICC champion’s trophy. It was started in 1998 and till now, 8 tournaments are played. India has won this tournament two times in 2000 and 2013. As a serious fan of cricket, one must have the knowledge of all tournaments and their hosting countries as well as the ICC Champions Trophy winners list.

Part 1. Watch All Champions Trophy Matches in a Single App

Snaptube application of Android operating system has bring all cricket entertainment on one platform. Now you can watch all of the matches of champion’s trophy, world cup and IPL without switching between multiple applications. Snaptube is an amazing app that lets the users to explore the videos of cricket matches from multiple sites. You just need to type the keywords on the search bar and results will be displayed on home screen.
snap tube for android
This app also provides an option to place your favourite streaming site on home screen for direct access. The user interface of Snaptube is so easy that even a beginner can also explore their favourite content very easily.

Part 2. A Full Champion Trophy Winner List

1. Champions Trophy 1998 Winner – South Africa

The team of South Africa is one of the strongest contenders of all cricket tournaments since its introduction to international level. In 1998, Bangladesh was the host country where the matches of champion’s trophy were played from 24 October to 1 November. The final match was against West Indies in which they chased the target of 246 runs and won by four wickets. In the same tournament, Sachin Tendulkar scored 141 runs as the highest against Australia.

2. Champions Trophy 2000 Winner – New Zealand

This tournament was played as knockout format just like the previous one. The team of New Zealand was one of those who got automatic qualification benefit. India was the second runner-up team in this tournament that defeated South Africa with Sourav Ganguly’s 141 runs. In the final match, the 102 runs of Chris Carins were the reason for the victory of kiwis. Despite of losing the final, Indian players become the top run scorers and wicket takers.

3. Champions Trophy 2002 Winner –  India-Sri Lanka (Draw)

This was the year when the interference of rain results in sharing the filan trophy between two nations. Sri Lanka was the host country at that time and their team was also very strong. In the semi-final, they defeated Australian team to compete India. Sourav Ganguly was the captain and chased 44 runs score until rain ruined it on the score of 222 at 7 wickets. Finally, the match was declared as draw and two captains shared the trophy.

4. Champions Trophy 2004 Winner – West Indies

In 2004, the ICC champions trophy as organised in England which is known as the origin of cricket. As a semi-finalist, England beat Australian team and got a chance to win the final. At that time, the team of West Indies was considered as strongest contender and they proved it in final. England team scored 217 runs and in response, West Indies lost 8 wickets with just 147 runs. In this hard situation, Courtney Browne and Ian Bradshaw hold the match to score remaining 71 runs uneaten.

5. Champions Trophy 2006 Winner – Australia

This was the time when Australian team become undisputed champion in al formats of cricket with its strong batting and bowling line. They proved same consistency in the final match against West Indies who were the winners of previous tournament. India was the host country where Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies were semi-finalists. The final was rain affected match in which Australia won by eight wickets but Christ Gayle become to scorer with 474 runs.

6. Champions Trophy 2009 Winner – Australia

By continuing the undisputed crown, Australia once again won the final match of this tournament against New Zealand. In this tournament, the top eight ODI teams participated divided in 2 groups. To reach the final, they beat England which was not an easy task. Even after the deficiency of star players like Michael Clark and Nathan Bracken, the captain Ricky Ponting managed to win by six wickets.

7. Champions Trophy 2013 Winner – India

This was the first time when India won ICC champions trophy without compromising as previously was a draw with Sri Lanka in 2002. England was the host country in 2013 where Mahendra Singh Dhoni represented the Indian team as a powerful captain. He played a gamble by giving 18th over to Ishant Sharma but it worked and against Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara. With a close margin of just 5 runs, India Managed to grab its first trophy of this tournament.

8. Champions Trophy 2017 Winner – Pakistan

In the recent tournament of ICC champion’s trophy, Pakistan become first time winner by defeating India. It was a quite confusing match in which Pakistan won by 180 runs even after the strongest Indian Batting line up. Again this time, England was the host country that didn’t managed to reach the final event. Just within 30.3 overs, team India lost the match by scoring 158 runs.

updated by on Mar 11, 2020